The Columbus Fire Department was organized October 26th, 1877. The officers were a chief engineer, assistant chief engineer and fire warden. The mayor and councilmen were Fire Wardens Ex-Officio. The department was divided into three companies: Hose Co., Ladder Co. and Engine Co. Each company elected its own officers: foreman, assistant foreman and secretary-treasurer.

Today, when at full staff our paid on call fire department consists of 40 firefighters. Training drills are held on the 2ndand 4th Tuesdays of each month. Regular monthly meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month. Driver/operator training is held on the first Tuesday of every other month alternating with vehicle extrication practice in the other months.

In addition to protecting lives and property within the City of Columbus, we also serve either in full, or portions of, the Townships of Columbus and Hampden in Columbia County; Calamus, Elba, and Portland in Dodge County; and York in Dane County for a total of 128 square miles.

Columbus Fire Department is currently members of MABAS Division 135.